Archinect
anchor

How long does probation usually last in large corporate firms?(KPF, Gensler, SOM, NBBJ)

hggh

An a new employee, how long does probation usually last in large corporate firms?

There is nothing about probation on my offer letter. Does that mean they don't have a probation on me since I was an intern there? Or is there any default and unwritten custom in large corporate firms(KPF, Gensler, SOM, NBBJ)?

Thx!

Jan 22, 12 2:57 pm
ovalle

3 months. Usually health insurance kicks in after the third month you have been working. Saves HR from doing a lot of paper work. 

Jan 22, 12 4:42 pm  · 
 · 
tuna

Firms vary. I've seen some that lasted a few days, weeks, months, and some even up to a year. Sometimes companies know that people will quit in the short run so the probation perid tends to stretch out to be longer.

Jan 23, 12 2:26 pm  · 
 · 
med.

I'm currently at one of the firms you mentioned - three months is normal.

Just for the record, small and mid-size firms do the same thing typically.

Jan 24, 12 6:02 pm  · 
 · 
w. architect

Usually, 3 months...then they figure out that your late to work, lazy and either a druggy or have other issues!

Sometimes, it happens in a matter of days!

May 28, 12 10:40 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical

"There is nothing about probation on my offer letter."

In that case, check the employee handbook -- or ask someone before accepting the offer?

However, I would find it highly unusual (boarderline unethical) for a firm to use a probationary period and not mention that little tidbit in the offer of employment.

By the way, congratulations on receiving an offer. No small feat in this economy.

May 29, 12 1:48 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

SOM -  3 months

May 29, 12 2:00 pm  · 
 · 
w. architect

Probation?  I think until you get a Friday afternoon pink slip!

Jun 14, 12 8:41 pm  · 
 · 

Block this user

Are you sure you want to block this user and hide all related comments throughout the site?

Archinect