Archinect
anchor

Maya...?

Hasselhoff

Everyone is always arguing about which software package is the best, Rhino, Maya, 3DMax. The modeling differences are pretty obvious as well as Rhino's dumpy rendering (for now). BUt what are the real rendering differences with Maya v Max? Is one easier, better, faster? I mostly use Max. I've played with Maya in the past. People are always asking me which they should learn (I'm a resident computer dork). From what I understand, most firms use Max/Viz for rendering, so I would assume that unless you want to get into 'advanced parametric modeling' with Maya and the firms that do that, then Max would be your best bet. What are people using at work? Anyone use Maya at work? Do you think it's worth putting effort into Maya? It seems like some people have one studio that uses "x" software package and think that it's the ONLY way to go. Thoughts?

Feb 4, 06 6:59 pm
LimitedPromos

Maya at my office...max is user friendly and equally as powerful as maya in many ways just depends what you master...the only edge maya has on max is nurbs modeling (and a smoother workflow but that depends on your preferences) but if your office does not require a nurbs modeling package then you should stick to max for rendering.

Feb 4, 06 10:04 pm  · 
 · 
monkeyboy

I used maya at a prior office. It is a good nurbs modeler and due to its animation capabilities it good constraints and history it is not at all a parametric modeller. It all depends what you are using the software for. I have recently beein using CATIA, Digital Project and Rhino...And i dont think i would ever turn back to MAYA. Well maybe to do some fun formal stuff...but I would say it is not an efficient architectural office software. Rhino is far better suited and flows better with other architecture based software.

Feb 4, 06 11:09 pm  · 
 · 
harold