Archinect
anchor

Holy Bejezzus

Hasselhoff

I'm going to help my friend build a workstation. Has anyone been keeping up on the dual core CPUs? I'm thinking about putting in 2 dual core Opterons. The mid level DC Opterons are $415 each. Would I be better off going top of the line single core Opterons or midlevel dual core Opterons?

Jan 28, 06 8:38 pm
Luis Fraguada

I guess theoretically 2 dual core opterons would give you the processing power of 4 cpus, vs the two with single core. I would go with two dual core opterons. How much time do you have? If you can wait a bit, it might be worth it as these come down in price.

Jan 29, 06 6:47 am  · 
 · 
count spectacula

Hasselhoff,

Where are you seeing dual core opterons for $415? The cheapest I've seen is the 265 (1.8 Ghz) for $760 a piece.

I'd be interested in hearing more about your experience building a workstation. I'm a student at the School of Design also (MLA) and having a hard time figuring out what to buy/build moving from a Macintosh to the PC world.

Feb 1, 06 10:21 am  · 
 · 
Hasselhoff

Oh crap. Yeah. You are absolutely right. I was looking at the 170! IDIOT! Thanks for pointing that out. I even knew that you need a 2XX Opteron for dual processors, but for whatever reason just over looked it here. This would actually be the second workstation I built. I built my own and it's been one of the most stable machines in studio (knock on whatever the hell this desk is made of). So yeah, I guess I'll go straight up Dual Processor.

Feb 1, 06 11:37 am  · 
 · 
A Center for Ants?

Opteron 165 1.8 ghz dual core on mwave.com for $325
170 @2.0 ghz for $394

Feb 1, 06 6:16 pm  · 
 · 
A Center for Ants?

why can't they be done dual is the question i was wondering...

Feb 1, 06 6:16 pm  · 
 · 
Hasselhoff