Archinect
anchor

3D Hesitations

airspot

Hi all! Here is my short story.
I dolt with 3d graphics for about tree years till 2000. I worked as a visualisator for big architectural place. I liked my job a lot, but enforced to leave this area. Nowadays I recognize the new opportunity to get in. But you, people, know, five years in this industry is a very very long period. So a lot of tools changed, the new tools added. I need the advise about the software.

I intend to deal with architectural visualization (interior, mostly, but exterior too), and with industrial design.

The are lots of exelent tools on the market. But the prices......
For one who are begining and can't invest so much money....
The second problem is that if I buy for example 3D Studio - this program does allow to obtain good results. But this is only with the plugins such as VRay or Brazil. As a modeller.....I didn't like it.

I get closer to my point. I choose the Rhino as a modeller. I think this decision is solid. It coasts about 800 US buck. It is good price and strong abilities. But what about the render? Here is my problem.

I tried to check Flamingo. It isn't so good. It is slow, and the trial version that they supplay isn't work correct (they released the SR4 nowadays, but you can't to dowload it for evaluation version, it demands serial key). Even I just don't know how to handle the radiosity in this program, - they don't supplay any good tutorials about interior ligthening.

I've read your discussion about renders here at your site.
1) May be somebody can to redirect me to the places on interner to get this kind of tutorials?
2)If no - do you think I should wait till VRay or Brazil will be released this (2006) year? Which one will be better?

I plan to purchase tools at october-november 2006. So I have almost one year. What can you advise?
May be exists some good stand-alone renderer an I don't know about him?

What do you think, will McNeel close the Flamingo or will develope it?