Archinect
anchor

Trying to Learn Vectorworks

ichweiB

Hey guys,
Well-I just switched over to the Mac platform. I have been an AutoCAD user since I was a freshman in college, and now in my first year of graduate school, I feel like a duck out of water trying to use a different drafting program. I was wondering if anyone had some good resources I might be able to use to learn the program. I have Vectorworks 11 right now with renderworks. If there are any tutorials online or books you mighpt suggest, I would appreciate it.
Thanks!

Jan 2, 06 5:52 pm
el jeffe

i thought VW came with a pretty decent tutorial pack?

Jan 2, 06 6:40 pm  · 
 · 
Gloominati

There's a reasonably good tutorial that comes with VW11 (just click the "Help" button.) There are also a few 3rd party books and CDs out there. The book by Tom Baer is pretty good for learning each tool individually - though a little slow moving and not that great for understanding how to set up a project. I'm not sure there's an edition for version 11 though.
When I started using VW it came with some sample projects on the install CDs, and there was one architectural one that was helpful for understanding how to set up the layers and classes.

Jan 2, 06 7:03 pm  · 
 · 
LimitedPromos

Microsoft Paint can do everything Vectorworks can do. Click Start>Programs>Accessories>Paint and your golden.

Jan 5, 06 9:25 pm  · 
 · 
thenewold

when I taught myself vectorworks, I just started drawing and used the help file as needed. it's a little frustrating sometimes but it works okay.

Jan 5, 06 11:44 pm  · 
 · 
weave

one good thing i've noticed about VW learning is the ultra-fast turnaround for questions in the discussion groups. if you have any questions, i would suggest going there, searching for the answer, or just go ahead and ask. they usually respond within the day.