Archinect
anchor

High School Student In Need of a Little Help

mkell

Hi everyone, I am currently a junior in high school and I have been dreaming about becoming and architect ever since I was about 8 years old. Although I have been very serious in drawing and designing, I am really lost in all of the other aspects of architecture.

What kind of degree would be the best choice? I want to be able to get as high as I can later in life. I live in St. Louis and I am wanting to stay in the mid-west. What are some of the top architecture schools in the area? Wash. U. I hear is good, but it is a little on the expensive side. I also hear great things about KU. Any other notable places?

I have a few other questions, but I will let the above roll out a little bit. If you have any input, please contribute as I would really appreciate it. Thanks!!

Nov 4, 05 9:32 pm
dNs

Hi mkell,

While I don't know much about mid-west schools, my personal belief, and one which is shared by many other of my colleages, is that an initial, bachelor's degree outside of architecture is the best first step. Then, a masters in architecture. However, this won't save you financially, of course.

good luck.

Nov 4, 05 11:55 pm  · 
 · 
Hasselhoff