Archinect
anchor

Degree versus Experience

alliecat

i am having an severe internal debate here... it is 2 days away from the start of classes for my MArch/MLArch at a state school that i am less than thrilled to attend... but i feel like i should just go to get my degrees and be done with it...
on the other hand, i have a good job that pays me well, closes down for 3 weeks during the winter and is flexible during ski season... oh and i am also eligible for 2 weeks paid vacation starting in 2 days...
i went into this firm 2 years ago with very basic drafting skills, and now i am a junior project manager/designer... my bosses want me to become a lead PM and salesperson, but that requires me to work 60 to 80 hours/week and it is also a big investment for my firm to make... i have pretty much turned down that offer based on the fact that i want a life outside of work, and the PMs at my office never seem happy...but i am still learning something new and receiving increasing amounts of responsibility everyday...
so i guess my question to you all is if the experience i will gain working full-time for another year worth putting off my education
for another year? also, will architecture firms view time spent with a LA firm as valuable experience?

Aug 16, 05 8:41 am
AP

just an inexperienced opinion...

I would work, maybe even the 60-80 PM job for the experience, then go to grad school. It seems that after grad school and such significant work experience you would be an exceptional candidate for employment. Maybe the extra year won't make a huge difference, but coming out of school and into the work force with PM experience would be huge. (again, I really don't know what I'm talking about, just projecting...)

Aug 16, 05 9:39 am  · 
 · 
AP

will the firm you're currently at entertain the idea of paying for your graduate education at a school that you would be more excited to attend? Just a thought. It happens often enough around here...

Aug 16, 05 9:41 am  · 
 ·