Archinect
anchor

Today is my 29th Birthday. I spent it drawing this imaginary building floor plan. Note that I'm not an architect

dassouki

A bit of a background. I'm a civil/transportation engineer that has read extensively Architecture books (practical and academic).

I saw an ugly floor plan of a 20 story building yesterday so I decided to redesign it a la dassouki taste. Although, I live in North America, I don't usually design things to have bath + powder or have enclosed kitchens (I prefer open kitchen). The idea is to have the better units Unit A and B facing the good view, while unit C to face the back, a lesser awesome view.

Feel free to critique, ask, bash, etc

DWG

Direct Link To Image

Sep 20, 11 6:21 pm
MixmasterFestus

Do you have the original plan around?  It would be interesting to see the original, and also what is considered 'ugly'.

Some quick comments:

- Check your exit stairs.  You don't need three, and the two on the ends would ideally be located a little farther apart (you'd have to check the distance from the outermost 'accessible' area to the stair door).  This is a fire code thing.

- You'll want some mechanical rooms for your apartments.  They don't have to be large, but you'll need a place for the guts.  (Also, I think the recent trend is to have the laundry machine in its own separate room, instead of hanging outside of the bathroom.)

- You have some column-looking things, but only about two of them.  Are those mechanical chases?  How is the building supported?

- It's usually way cheaper to have bathrooms back up to each other, especially on multi-floor identical-pancake-stack skyscrapers.