Archinect
anchor

NJIT

Shellaby

I'd like to hear (read) informed opinions about the first professional M.Arch at the New Jersey Institute of Technology.

I have done a search for this topic, and I only found three sentences: 2 sentences from 2 people who said that the school is good and that good design is coming out of the school. One sentence suggested it isn't a good school.

I'll go visit the school soon, I hope. In the meanwhile, I've looked through the schools website and thought the following:

-the website is bad and needs fixing
-they make it sound like they're up-and-coming but I don't know how or why
-Their students are very good with technology.

Jun 11, 05 12:37 pm
b3tadine[sutures]

i graduated from the barch, i hear things are moving up, and the faculty is getting better. go and visit like you said, just carry an amount of skepticism with regard to anything the admin tells you - look for the core group of quality people and ask them a lot of questions. it's cheap, close to everything - all good things. newark - bad thing. just watch your gear and you'll be fine. if you can seek out Don Wall, as i have said here many times, he is reason alone to go there...

Jun 11, 05 1:36 pm  · 
 · 
Shellaby

Thanks for your input. I've never heard of Don Wall before now -- what, in your opinion, makes him so great?

Jun 12, 05 6:26 pm  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]

well, for one he taught at Cooper Union, has a Phd from Catholic University, wrote a wonderful thesis and book on Paolo Soleri - that in the opinion of many is one of the important graphic achievments in modern architectural texts. he was also the friend to John Hejduk referred to as The Gentle Inquisitor in Mask of Medusa, and he also has a piece of text in Education of An Architect.