Archinect
anchor

Uk Trained Interior Designer looking to NYC

pacb

Help please, in any form you can offer it!

I am a UK citizen, currently based in Manchester heading up an Interior Design Dept. within a General Architectural practice.

In brief I'm looking to relocate to NYC. I am aware that there are some differences between practising Interior Design in the UK and the USA, as I studied in Toronto for 4 months as part of my degree, but anything major I should no about?

I have a BA Hons in Interior Design and my work is definitely more focused on the Interior Architecture side of Interior Design. I have a substantial portfolio of commercial interiors, and work from other sectors too - including residential and education.

I'm after any pointers at all as to the best course of action to take, any advice will be greatly received. So far I'm aware that I will have to find a job first, at a firm willing to sponsor a visa, but that's about as far as I have got.

Any clues as to a realistic salary for NYC would also be gratefully received. I have 3 years post qualification experience, job running and detail design are no problem - and I am proficient with most of the software packages, particularly 3D VIZ/MAX, Photoshop and Auto CAD.

I look forward to hearing from you.

PACB.

May 31, 05 2:00 pm
ericharch

How much money are you expecting/willing to work for?

Jun 1, 05 9:36 am  · 
 · 
pacb

I'm taking a good wage here in the UK, unfortunately i have limited knowledge of salary's in NYC. Next up would be the scope of work - of course that would have some impact on how much i'd be willing to work for, although i would need to be excited about the work to re-locate so i woudln't sell myself too short.

At this stage i would be looking for somewhere in the region of $50,000 US, but that really is just a starting point. ANy feedback would be gratefully received.

Jun 1, 05 11:24 am  · 
 · 
ericharch