Archinect
anchor

Architecture or Car design?

tjdlghkd

Hi im a designer hopeful and would like to study either car design or architecture after graduation.

up til now i didn't really look into architecture but now i would like to know more about this industry.

Because i live in New Zealand, which schools have good reputations in Australisia?  And if i were to choose either Victoria or Auckland uni. which would be a better choice?

And hows the architecture employment rate around the world? Can you land a job straight after bach, graduation? Also, approx salary?

Thank you very much

Kind regards

Sep 3, 11 7:02 am
Medusa

I considered car design after finishing my B. Arch, but after joining a forum similar to this one, I realized that their world is very similar to ours in terms of pay, work conditions, lifestyle, etc, but your employment options are much more limited.  If you do end up going with car design, there are some very good schools in Milan with industrial design programs focused on the auto industry.  If you are particularly good, you might score an internship with Lamborghini.  Good luck!

Sep 3, 11 12:29 pm  · 
 · 

Calling diabase....dia, tune in please.

Sep 3, 11 12:57 pm  · 
 · 
trace™

I considered car design, too (and looked at RISD).  Ended up going to the RISD summer arch intro, which sold me on architecture.  Great school, btw, and if you think about coming to the states I'd highly recommend looking at it, for either arch or some other design.

Now, if the software that is available now was available then, I probably would have gone that route (and ended up in industrial design).

Glad I could be of a great help!    ;-)

Sep 3, 11 8:11 pm  · 
 · 
zonker