Archinect
anchor

architecture vs. interor design

cocopi

hi! i'm new here, and this is my first time where i've actually posted in a forum. i know...how could this 22 year old go through her life without ever posting in a forum? well...i never felt comfortable doing it, but i have read through the forums, and i find that people actually care to respond. they seem sincere in their answers, and they aren't afraid to voice their opnions. so before i begin my post, i just want to say that this website is awesome! i was looking through the forums, and i find the discussions really helpful. there's lots of great info. about the architecture world here at archinect. :)

so.......

i was reading an article about the gaps between interior design and architecture. it caught my attention because i was thinking about getting a b.a. in interior design at cal state sac and then a master degree in architecture at sciarc. in my mind i was thinking that understanding the interior of a building is just as important as the outside of the house, but then the article mentioned the distinction between interior architecture and interior design. i think what i'm more interested in is interior architecture, not interior design. are there any bachelor programs out there that focuses on interior architecture? but i guess it doesn't really matter because i'll learn about interior architecture when i'm in grad school but just not as detailed, right? oh and i was looking at cal state long beach's b.a. interior design program (can't you tell i want to stay in cali? i love kalifornia! haha.), and it seems like they focus a little more on interior architecure, so that's one school that i'm now interested in.