Archinect
anchor

IDP and PHD?

Dani Zoe

This has been burning in my mind for at least two years now, but none of my other arch friends are in this situation, so I bring this to Archinect:

I want to get my phd in urban planning at some point, but value architecture registration as well. I already have my professional degree and some IDP credits. It seems crazy to work for three years then study for four years to get my phd; this leaves me feeling like I have to choose one or the other. But today I began to wonder if that is really the case, is there a way to work on both with some overlap?

This sorta sounds like mental suicide to me, but I wonder if anyone else on Archinect has grappled with this issue and has valuable input?

Aug 25, 11 12:31 am
citizen

I did a PhD in urban planning, and yes, I thoroughly enjoyed it.  But I did it several years after licensure, so my situation is not the same as yours.  My advice is to do one at a time.  Since you're already on the IDP track, keep going and focus on your license.  Grad school will always be there, but those IDP credits have a limited shelf life.

Unless you're superhuman, trying to do both simultaneously is a bad idea, in my opinion.

Aug 25, 11 12:52 am  · 
 · 
MixmasterFestus

Why do you want to get your PhD?  Do you want to change careers, or 'enhance' your existing architecture career?  Are you trying to fill a void, or do you plan on going into academia?

If I were in your position, all options were equal, and wanted to make a clean break to change careers, I'd finish out the IDP and then go to school.  If you can find work in a firm that deals with the type of work you'd hope to do after the PhD, all the better.