Archinect
anchor

Looking for apartment in nyc for arch student

sb080

I'm an architecture student at NYIT and i'll be starting my first semester this fall. I'll be living in the dorm room in riverside, but from what I have read and heard the dorms aren't really spacious to do work in. I want to find an apartment but their very expensive. I wonder if anyone has any ideas as to finding an apartment close to school that's affordable. 

Aug 19, 11 6:46 pm
Olivia_Lau

An affordable apartment on the Upper West Side? Sorry, but that's highly unlikely, especially for what college students may consider "affordable." Not to mention, it's a bit late to be looking for an apartment this close to the start of school.

If anything, you may be able to get a few friends together and find an apartment for next year. But for now, make use of any common spaces in your dorm building. No need to be shut inside your room. You never know; your dormmates may find what you're working on kinda interesting.

Aug 19, 11 8:02 pm  · 
 · 
Bench

Edit

Aug 19, 11 9:51 pm  · 
 · 

If "close" means less than 20 minutes on the subway (which in my world it does) you may want to consider washington heights. You get much more space and places are pretty affordable. You can stay near the A, C or 1 train and be down to NYIT in about 20 minutes. 

Aug 20, 11 12:30 am  · 
 · 
sb080

Thanks guys.

I'm guessing that i'll be in the dorms for at least two semesters. Hopefully I can find a place by next year. I know the upper west side is expensive. I should have mentioned that i wasn't looking around that area. I just wanted to get a head start at what to do when looking for a place i guess. 

hey lee i just wanted to ask if washington heights is a safe neighborhood? 

Aug 20, 11 10:31 am  · 
 ·