Archinect
anchor

** Posting Site Visit Photos Online + Copyright? **

germX

Hello!  I've done a cursory search and do not see this topic being raised...

BACKGROUND:

As an architecture student, I've been fortunate enough to have some pretty good SITES VISITS from time to time.  However, I'm curious about posting the photos of those site visits online in a BLOG or DISCUSSION GROUP.

QUESTION(S)

1.  DO I NEED PERMISSION from the owner/client of the building to post images online?  It isn't a high security area, or even a government building.  It was of a school.  I want to post some INTERIOR SHOTS.  These interior spaces may or may not be open to the general public, but it's definitely open to the students of the school.

2.  Or is it pretty much implied that if they (owner/client) don't make you sign anything saying not to publish -- I'm basically free to do whatever with the photos.

3.  Finally, if I do post the images and the owner/client asks me to take the photos down, do I have to?

Thank you in advance and have a great day,

g.

Aug 12, 11 12:16 am
Rusty!

You're overthinking it kid.

Make photo and have fun. Share as you wish. If you ever become a commercial photographer, then your question become very valid.

Aug 12, 11 1:29 am  · 
 · 
germX

I'm an old(ish) dog going for my Masters, but thanks for the compliment, rusty!  You wouldn't be the first to tell me that I'm overthinking things.  However, with that said, I don't want to waste my time coming up with a write up to post along with the images only to be scolded by the owners to have images removed, ya know?

Thanks for your response!

Aug 12, 11 1:39 am  · 
 · 
Rusty!

Oh ok. then do as rusty would do it. Post image. Write up the nastiest criticism of architecture seen in photo as you can think of. Done!

You're a critic now and are legally protected for sharing your views. 

Or praise. Everyone likes praise.