Archinect
anchor

advancement w/B.S.

sanofiSYN

I'm just wondering how far up in a firm that a person w/only a B.S. Arch degree can go (not professional degree). I realize that this can vary greatly from office to office, but is it possible to become, say perhaps junior project manager w/just this degree and some experience under the belt? If so, what's a good timeframe? I'm just wondering what how much and what can be accomplished b/f going back to grad school.

Mar 8, 05 8:04 pm
blunted

It really does depend on the firm and the person. I have been working for about 7 years and went from 2 yrs. a Sr. Designer to being Project Manager for about 6 months now. Would it have been beneficial to go to grad school? Don't know that it would have made any difference.

Mar 8, 05 8:36 pm  · 
 · 
sanofiSYN

Blunted -

Was that just w/ a B.S. degree or did you have a B.Arch?

Mar 8, 05 8:40 pm  · 
 · 
blunted

Just B.S Arch. I was lucky to get the chance almost immediately to start designing at my first job and was Job Captain within 2-3 months of starting.
Need someone to let you do it and people to give you the chance.

Mar 9, 05 1:08 am  · 
 · 
hutch

yeah, but then you have to go through your entire career explaining that you're "not really an architect," which doesn't bother some - but i'm beginning to find annoying after only a couple years.

Mar 9, 05 7:51 am  · 
 · 
blunted

Can't see a reason you can't be a "real architect" as long as you do your ARE and IDP if neccessary. Sure in most states that require IDP it takes a couple of years longer, but those years are "working" years as opposed to the 2 yrs(with B.S.) you would need for masters. I would probably have went for my masters, but in my situation, i just couldn't afford it.

Mar 9, 05 10:48 am  · 
 · 
pia555

sanofiSYN

Depends on what your goals are. Undoubtedly you can go pretty far up the chain w/o having the Barch or M arch. The pay could very well be good.