Archinect
anchor

Q : job hunting tactics

cSquared

Ok, so:
I graduated with a Barch recently and Im out there looking for my first job. I have a list of top places in my area that I woud like to work for. However, Im wondering if I should contact them now with my portfolio, etc. and establish a relationship or if I should gain some exp. elsewhere before I contact these tip picks. I wouldn't want to make a bad impression because I havent had practice and ruin future chances. Any thoughts?

Also, another Q. I made 10 copies of a small portfolio that were a bit pricey to produce. Would it be in bad form to ask for them back after a firm has reviewed it and expressed no interest?

Thanks for your thoughts.........cheers

Mar 8, 05 7:30 pm
duke19_98

I'd suggest wetting you feet with a couple interviews before you meet with your top picks.

Define pricey. I made about 30 mini portfolios that cost me about 3 bucks a piece. They also took me about 30-40 mins per portfolio to cut out and piece together. That being said, I wouldn't think of asking for them back. I'm down to about 3 that I'm saving just incase.

Being that you only have 10, I would send them only after firms request a work sample. However, I received a lot of positive feed back by sending them with my initial resume.

Mar 8, 05 8:02 pm  · 
 · 
pencrush

I would say go for the top firms.. well, let me qualify that. Are you looking to go to other firms for interview or work experience? If you want interview experience, it might be a good idea to try out other firms.. Although in my experience, architecture firms are pretty easy interviews. I've rarely had the stereotypical interview questions, "what is your greatest weakness/strength?" Most interviews (in my experience) have been asking about your work (portfolio) asking you to talk about it, what you can add to the firm, and what role you'd like to play.. that kind of stuff, and then they'll talk about themselves for a while.