Archinect
anchor

Whats so great about Morphosis?

guiggster

A naive but sincere question. And not supposed to sound as rhetorical as it does.

Morphosis are the only architects that I hear consistently about on this board. Are they the hottest thing at the moment? Or are they just especially relevent to Arch students right now? Why? It is not intuitive to me when I see their work that they should be deserving of SO much praise. Can someone explain how they are important in architecture right now?

Mar 1, 05 6:35 am
antipod

probably becaue they do quite a bit of slick work in california...where this site is based i do believe....

only a theory of course. personally i like their stuff.

Mar 1, 05 8:58 am  · 
 · 
3ifs

it seems to me that a lot of students appreciate thier work... [old fogey voice] i remember back when i was a student (8 yrs ago), we all loved morphosis... [/old fogey voice]

the love has waned through years of professional practice for all of us.

Mar 1, 05 9:10 am  · 
 · 
trace™

One reason they (Mayne, Rotundi - now Mayne) were so popular is there extensive model building, diagramming, pretty picture making, etc. This is what we all do in school (and most would like to do it in the real world, but no one pays for that pretty stuff). So we look to experimental design, experimental model making, experimental diagramming, and it's all there, in slick and pretty books.

The latest one has brought everything into the computer era, solidifying Mayne, yet again, as a pioneer and visionary in any medium. He and Lynn (separately, of course) almost single handedly defined computer aesthetics for architects. This was due in large part to the limitations of the hardware available, but they made it all famous. Students are still making things this way (again, because of time limitations, although that's changing).