Archinect
anchor

Dropping out of UofT Arch and pursuing an M.Arch without BA(AS)

quokkamarsh

Hi, 

As the title suggests, I am currently a first-year undergraduate who is about one month into my studies at UofT Daniels. Needless to say, I have become slightly disillusioned with the program. I was initially attracted to Architecture because I am interested in the human aspect of design: considering public/private spaces, how light and sound affect the user, and developing design solutions regarding a wide range of social issues (such as climate, etc). However, while the people so far have been great, UofT's curriculum has been unable to stretch me creatively.

I am thinking of reapplying to a more rigorous practical arts program (i.e. Sheridan's Hons Bachelor of Animation, another program that I previously got into) and then pursuing an M.Arch at UofT/UBC or getting an Architectural Technician diploma while completing Summer Intro courses. While working in animation has always been my dream, the animation industry is oversaturated, very unstable, and (shockingly!) pays even less than architecture (~35k w/o union vs ~50k entry). Architecture is also very integrated into the social fabric and has a problem-solving aspect that I like. I plan on achieving a nice balance of both so that I can pivot from one industry to another (as well as construction etc.) when times get tough. Would welcome some advice from practicing architects in Canada as I come from a non-arts immigrant family and have been unable to discuss this with anyone.

Thanks!

A burnt-out 18-year-old lol.

Oct 13, 24 5:00 pm
bowling_ball

I'll bite and hopefully I can help a little. 

I started out in fine arts, including a brief stint studying animation. Several of my peers went to Sheridan, an excellent program (that just means the program is good; it doesn't mean you'll be able to find a job in the field).