Archinect
anchor

Architects w/experience in medical facilities

aewing21

I am currently a grad student in a Design Management program and am working on a project about the design of medical facilities. I was wondering if there are any seasoned architects that might be able to do an informal interview or possibly connect me with someone who would?

Aug 16, 24 5:00 pm
G4tor

What are you gonna give me for my time? 

Aug 19, 24 3:07 pm  · 
1  · 
aewing21

Unfortunately, don't have any funding for my research as this is all for my thesis regarding my masters degree. I can just offer you credits and attribution in my work. Maybe a small token of appreciation out of my own pocket, but nothing too substantial. I wish I had more to offer.

Aug 21, 24 3:51 pm  · 
 · 

Is this for a school project?  

Medical design and construction is a large field.  What will you be asking about?  

Aug 19, 24 4:18 pm  · 
 · 
aewing21

Yes, this is research for my thesis in pursuit of my Master's in Design Management at SCAD. The topic is: How can the practice of design management improve mobility-related accessibility of medical facilities? So I really need to find out as much as I can about the design process.

Aug 21, 24 4:07 pm  · 
 · 
graphemic

Genuine question: what books have you read so far?

Aug 21, 24 5:31 pm  · 
 · 

What do you mean by design management? Is this the design process or just design in general?

This is topic is still very wide reaching.  

Aug 21, 24 6:25 pm  · 
 · 
RJ87

I improve mobility-related accessibility by disregarding civil's terrible ramp layouts lol.

Aug 22, 24 10:09 am  · 
 · 
chris-chitect

One thing I might suggest is to try and meet someone in person. You'll kill two birds with one stone, not just getting the info you want but making an introduction to someone who could later hire you when you're done your program.