Archinect
anchor

Masters in Architecture, coming from Theatre Design

florisprins

Greetings Many, i wanted to ask this question on reddit which im far more active on but so far i have received no responses on r/architecture :| but it seems this forum is far more focussed on better advice. 

So quickly introducing myself, i am a Dutch citizen, studied 2 years public planning in Breda and decided to study theatre design in the UK later on. After my degree sadly the strikes hit, decided to return home and found i could not for the life of me find work where i could put my set design draughting skills to use. Simply said, they do not have the budget for the job i studied for. But after some discussion with my peers, family. They discussed that i could perhaps do a Masters in Architecture, as my skillset would translate well. 

Now i would like to ask, what does this forum think? 

One thing to note though, please dont assume that i only choose architecture as a form of employment only, its something i have always had a deep interest in. The reason for me studying stage design was because i am such a big movie buff. And the only reason why i chose to quit public planning was due to the managerial aspects which i was not good at. 

May 28, 24 11:30 am

I've done scenic design (what you call theatre design) early in my schooling and career.  While scenic design and architecture share some of the same design principals they are vastly different fields that require different skills and abilities.  

Side note:  while passion is important in architecture DO NOT let that be an excuse for taking a poor paying position at a toxic office.  Your time and experience are valuable.  

Good luck.  

May 28, 24 12:02 pm  · 
 · 
florisprins

what kind of study did you do your architecture degree in? Ma/Bachelors? If so, do you think a masters is enough to find work in? Being able to be employable by Master degree alone.