Archinect
anchor

The Design Process

ana!

Hi! I'm an student and just curious to know y'all design process and software workflow, idk to get a different perspective ig? :)

(P.s. for me, its a lot of sketching, then floor plans in autocad, modelling and render in sketchup- enscape, then post render in ps and illustrator)

Feb 4, 24 4:22 pm
Non Sequitur

My workflow is whatever works. Could be dozens of sorry bar napkin sketches or maybe I rearrange some books and make a crude model out of pipe cleaners. 3D design eventually evolves to SU, 3DS, or Revit depending on the project and the available fees.  

Feb 4, 24 7:23 pm  · 
 · 
atelier nobody

Every architect should have a good set of blocks...Kids Building Blocks | Montessori Toy

Feb 5, 24 9:39 pm  · 
1  · 
Wood Guy

Lots of sketching to start. Being able to freehand sketch nearly to scale is a very useful skill. I recently got a large iPad and am enjoying using ProCreate for sketching; being able to add many layers and adjust transparency is very helpful.

Once I have a scheme that "has legs," as a mentor used to say, I draft it in Autocad to make sure the floor plan works. It usually needs some tweaking, or sometimes it's not workable and I go back to sketching. 

Once a basic floor plan is worked out I use Autocad and Sketchup to work out sections and exteriors. That always leads back to floor plan adjustments. 

For schematic design I present colorized Autocad floor plans and basic sections, and a Sketchup exterior. I have not gotten into rendering or AI yet and really don't want to but I'm afraid I'll have to before long. 

After schematic design is design development, which I do mostly in Autocad, with varying levels of Sketchup depending on the project. Construction drawings are all Autocad. 

I'm a 50yo residential designer, for what that's worth. 

Feb 6, 24 10:16 am  · 
1  · 
ill_will