Archinect
anchor

Stuck in a low GPA hole and unsure how to proceed with accreditation (Canada)

davidchipperfieldsglasses

Hi all. My career goal is to become a licensed architect in Canada, but I am struggling to find a path due to the reckless decisions I have made in the past. 

A bit of background: I graduated with a BDes in Industrial Design from a Canadian school in 2021. I did this program because no architectural undergrad is available in my province. During my last two years of study, I was a very unsuccessful student for reasons entirely within my control. I won't go too much into it, but I became very passive about schoolwork and didn't bother handing in most projects and skipped many classes. My CGPA for my degree came out to 2.7 and my GPA calculated over the past 60 credits is 2.5. Two F's on my transcript and six withdrawals in total. 

Needless to say, I am not an ideal M.Arch candidate for any school in Canada. 

My question for this forum is what would you do if you were in this position? Do you have any feedback or suggestions on any of the following options?

I should mention the schools I am looking at are: University of Calgary, University of Manitoba (Masters preparation program+MArch), University of Toronto, and Carleton University.

I am currently looking at the following options for accreditation in Canada:

1) Apply to M.Arch programs with my poor grades anyway (3 years)