Archinect
anchor

Architecture School for a Toy Designer?

decemberssecond1

Hello!

I am a high school student who is hoping to work for a specific company in the field of toy design. Many of the skills required for the job are similar to those taught in architecture schools, and I was wondering if majoring in architecture would be a good way to prepare myself for the field. 

I would prefer architecture over other design degrees because I find the field and design approach extremely exciting, and I can apply the degree to a vast myriad of careers should my first choice fall through. 

Architecture school, though, is famously rigorous and usually takes longer than other degrees, and though I am prepared to undertake that, I would like to hear you all's thoughts. 

Thanks!

Jan 4, 24 1:52 pm
JLC-1

look into industrial design - but you seem determined to go for architecture, so just do it - try it, and if it doesn't work, change it. Also, if the company you want to work for doesn't hire you, you might just start your own toy design firm.

Jan 4, 24 2:00 pm  · 
3  · 
decemberssecond1

Industrial design actually does look quite interesting, and a few of the schools I was looking at anyway offer that as a major. Thank you so much!

Jan 4, 24 7:04 pm  · 
1  · 
Volunteer

Why not contact the firm you want to work for and ask them what qualifications they are looking for? Also ask about summer internships. Industrial design would be worth looking into also. 

Jan 4, 24 3:34 pm  · 
2  · 
reallynotmyname

Agree. The OP would do well to contact the target employer and determine what college degree programs they favor when hiring. Whatever kind of programs they indicate, also see if they favor particular schools as well.

Jan 4, 24 5:48 pm  · 
 · 
decemberssecond1