Archinect
anchor

US BArch Program Problem

Max_2307

Hey, I'm a first-year international student at a "top 5" US architecture school. Honestly, it's not as challenging and intellectually engaging as I expected and some of my friends in the honors program also felt the same (especially those who came from competitive high schools like mine). Most students here seem disengaged, more into complaining and studio gossip than actual work. Critiques from professors usually meet defensiveness for no exact reason, or just blind agreement for the grades, not genuine engagement.

The party culture is another thing. It’s intense and, as an introvert, not really my scene—it messes with my sleep on weekends. Although the profs and TAs are great, I'm questioning the value of spending so much on a 5-year BArch, potentially followed by a master's.

I've got a scholarship offer from the University of Sydney that could save me a lot, and I'm considering transferring. It might not change the social setting much, but it's more economical, and I could complete both bachelor's and master's in a total of 5 years instead of 7.5 years.

Thoughts on transferring or the US BArch programs in general? Or what can I do for the rest of the school year to get the most out of university? Right now, I'm feeling a bit trapped and not exactly having the time of my life.

Nov 6, 23 11:20 am
BulgarBlogger

do not understimate social skills... your success as any kind of professional in life will depend on how well you navigate relationships, personal, romantic, and professional. You also have to learn how to enjoy yourself. 

Nov 6, 23 1:59 pm  · 
2  · 
monosierra

Word ... except for the most brilliant of minds, success for the majority is in equal part people and technical skills. A genius programmer may get away with being a weirdo, but for a profession like architecture, communicating effectively - to clients, between disciplines, managing teams internal and external - can make or break a career.