Archinect
anchor

Help with M.Arch. Statement of Intent

archanister

Hi everyone. I am applying to Notre Dame for a 3-year M.Arch I whose focus as you may know is traditional architecture. I have no design background so please keep this in mind when judging the SOP/SOI. This is a first draft so feel free to point out any typos or grammatical errors you may find. I would love some specific pointers on how to improve "my professional goals" section and how Notre Dame can help.

I am a software developer right now so maybe any ideas how I can weave that into the SOI would be great. I do "design" software in a non-visual sense.

Thank you all very much!

Btw ND explicitly says 3 to 5 pages so this SOI is in fact a bit short atm.
https://architecture.nd.edu/ac...

==========================================

I do two things with my time mostly: waste it and daydream of a better world with more ornamented architecture. A cynical observer may say I really only do the former thing under which the latter may be subsumed. I object since wasting time has never spurred me to action whereas imagining a better life and more beautiful society has ultimately brought me here.

I believe that the best way to design architecture even in this modern age is to study the classical principles of design even if one is to be a modernist. Since Notre Dame has arguably the best and most comprehensive program in traditional architecture, applying here is a natural choice for me. The seeds of my conscious interest in architecture began with an appreciation for modern and futuristic buildings. However, living in an architecturally diverse city like New York, my birthplace and current residence, I have had many years to live in, work, play, admire and critically observe many styles of architecture. It did not take long before I fell in love with the older styles.