Archinect
anchor

post-grad architecture path

sjdbub

hello, i'm just seeking some life advice about what to do now that i have my BS arch undergrad degree.

in my undergrad time, i did pretty well in studios and other arch-related courses, but i never really felt the passion behind what i was doing.  architecture was a major that i sort of fell into when applying for college because i didn't know what to choose and my family and friends said that it would be a good fit.  i'm not the type of person to only give half-effort to anything - especially school and work - so i poured countless hours into projects and assignments, all while questioning if it was even something i enjoyed.  to this day, i still wouldn't really say i enjoy architecture, it's moreso just something i do.

now, i am currently enrolled in a master's program at a competitive school in a foreign country, starting classes soon, and i find myself wondering if going straight to grad school was the right decision.  i'm one of a small group of my peers from my alma mater that decided to go straight to grad school.  i wonder if working for a couple years would have really helped me clarify what i wanted from this field and if it was really something i wanted to commit myself to.  i largely decided to go straight into my master's studies because again, many friends, family, and professors said it was good to do since returning to grad school down the road can be difficult.  my parents especially viewed it as the default path coming out of undergrad, and so i never gave working much thought simply because i was "doing what i was supposed to do."