Archinect
anchor

I regret ignoring my first two years in architecture school

estbraqalnebari

I am an interior architect student, and I will graduate soon. I regret that I did not focus on my first and second years of school because I didn't like my major at that time. I entered that major without even researching what it is about and what i am going to study in it. I thought that it was only about construction and mathematics only so i didn't even look it up because of my bad mental health that time and the pressure of my family to enter a major that they see a future of it. I was thinking of entering another major ( graphic design), but my family said there is no future for it. I was young at that time and i was afraid of even switching to another major because no one supported me at my decision at that time from my family so i thought they are right and they know better. i spent my first two years in interior architecture major hating it and only doing the assignments to finish. I got bad grades, a bad GPA, and a lot of negative comments from the professors because of my bad projects. After these two years, my mental health got better, and I started focusing because i lost the chance of going to another major due to my university rules. I found that I love this major. It suited me in different ways from creativity, art, science, and a lot of other things, but I regret that I didn't study, research, and work very hard. This resulted in missing a lot of things from fundamentals and many things that I won't find in the future, either from professors who are teaching me or the experience and the knowledge itself. Because I am close to my graduation, I started a bad habit of comparing myself to a lot of students who are better than me in different aspects of their projects and their knowledge. This is making me feel that I don't know a lot of things in the major and it's giving me the feelings that I will never evolve or get better because I lost this chance in my f