Archinect
anchor

Grad School Inquiries

LizzieDArchie

Hello, I am an architectural designer considering grad school for the next application cycle, Fall 2024. I am reaching out to gather insight on schools I am interested in, particularly at these schools: 

MIT, Harvard, Pratt, Columbia, UT, and Rice

I would like to hear people's personal experiences on attending these schools and ask: 

What architecture topics did your school focus on, and what is the teaching style? (Was it more conceptual or technical?) 

What type of student does your school admit, and what type of students were in your cohort?

Lastly, was going to your school worth it, and would you choose that school if you had the chance to do your M.Arch again? 

Thank you in advance for your help!

Aug 20, 23 4:03 pm
Non Sequitur

just remember that no arch degree is worth 100k debt so take the absolute cheapest degree you can. The rest matters less. 

Also, all of your schools are on every single other applicants list and this have plenty of info out in the forums.  Just pick the cheapest. 

Aug 20, 23 4:29 pm  · 
1  · 
sameolddoctor

NS is right, but each of these schools is around 75k per year these days. No degree in architecture is worth that. Case in point, you graduate from GSD and get a job in some hotshot firm. Starchitect firm will pay you around 40k a year, corporate max 50k. Totally not worth it, unless you score scholarships.

Aug 20, 23 4:59 pm  · 
1  · 
Non Sequitur

Also worth taking the time and apply to other schools than the top5.

Aug 20, 23 7:04 pm  · 
1  · 
nabrU

this is clown level advice on par with AA DRL Schumacher so he can pay everyone half in the office...

Aug 20, 23 9:41 pm  · 
 · 

It’s not about the school, but what you put into it. Sure the names can get you connections, but they won’t make you a better architect than other schools. 

Aug 20, 23 8:56 pm  · 
1  · 
b3tadine[sutures]