Archinect
anchor

liability risk in a town without building inspection

fenwayrabbit

I am an architect in MA. A client came to me recently with a vacation home project in a town in New Hampshire. This town doesn't have any building inspection service. Instead, the town will ask the owner and the builder to sign an affidavit to promise that the building has been constructed complying with all code. I emailed the town's staff and verified the information, but I noticed the staff's email address ends with .org not .gov. This is a fun project, I am very interesed, but concerned that the  town's regulation might conflict with the state of NH's requirement. Even it doesn't, will it has liability risk for an architect with the affidavit from the owner and the builder?

Anyone has any experience like this or any advice? Many thanks.

Apr 15, 23 11:22 am
reallynotmyname

Barring any conflicts with state regulations (which you totally need to research), the arrangement looks like it places responsibility squarely on the owner and builder and not you.

See if the town will give you model language for the affidavits or pre-approve the language if your client and builder have to write them your selves.  A 15-30 minute review of these documents by an attorney wouldn't hurt either.

Are you concerned that the owner & builder will put you in a position where they signed the affidavits "because you told them to, based on your assurances that everything was built to code"?   If that's a concern, maybe talk to the owner about hiring a third party independent building inspector.

Apr 15, 23 1:29 pm  · 
 · 
JonathanLivingston