Archinect
anchor

Employment - Current Scenario

Hi, 

I am a Master's Student in Columbia University, and I am graduating in May. I am an International Student and obviously don't have as many contacts as the students living here since long. Simultaneously, being an international student, I have a clock on my head because of the visa situation. With the market dying so bad right now, all architecture jobs seem under jeopardy. I have applied to a lot of places, however, haven't heard back for interview from even 1 place. I would love some guidance on what might be going wrong with my application, or how should I apply to ensure I have a job by May. It's becoming really stressful. 

Would love any help from my co-Archinect friends as this forum helped me a lot during applications. 

Mar 19, 23 11:19 pm
____

1. Imo your portfolio is way too long. I would edit it down to 3 or 4 projects.

2. Rewrite the descriptions of the projects as a short paragraph and have them reviewed by a native English speaker. Apply the same review process to your cover letter and resume.

I wish the best of luck to you.

Mar 20, 23 12:07 am  · 
 · 

Hi,

I edited my portfolio, removed a few projects. Changed some sequences, please do check that out and lemme know. 

Mar 20, 23 11:26 am  · 
 · 
____

It is greatly improved. What is throwing me off is the vertical orientation. I know some of the images are vertical. You can either edit by changing the orientation to landscape and not using them or reducing those images that continue over 2 pages by half and combining them as a single image. This would greatly increase their impact. It is not necessary to fill up every square inch. Use the white space as a design element. My 2¢.

Mar 20, 23 7:55 pm  · 
 · 

I understand, however, when most of the people look at the portfolio, it's just 11X17s not vertical sheets. (so its mostly horizontal sheets except the cover page) I can increase more white space for sure

Mar 20, 23 11:09 pm  · 
 ·