Archinect
anchor

I'd like to design for themed entertainment, but funding will probably take me to a school that isn't in a themed entertainment hub. How much of a problem is this?

meowpypurrfday

I'm a mid-career professional, pivoting from 15 years in film and television to architecture. I'd like to stay within the entertainment industry, specifically themed entertainment. Unfortunately, it's looking like the funding is taking me to a location that is not a hub of themed entertainment. How much of a problem will this be for me? Or is networking so important that it might be worth going to a more expensive school (like USC)? I'm currently working a contract at an immersive art company and I've noticed that all of the job openings they advertise are basically already taken before they're posted. Outsiders have no chance. I'm worried my network won't get me where I want to be after graduation. I'd love any advice! 

Mar 10, 23 4:29 am
Non Sequitur

there is too much fluff in here.

First, it is never worth it going to a more expensive place. Arch school is not an investment so pay as little as possible. 

Second, entertainment industry is a fucking wide and generic term. Certainly you can find a way to align your graduate work with what you like, but there is a lot more than design in arch school. If all you care about are grand concepts and themes but not building construction or prof-practice, then just go to art college. Plenty of options available and some even have fake arch schools too. 

Third, you’re overthinking this… or you don’t understand architecture. Could be both. 

Mar 10, 23 6:09 am  · 
 · 
monosierra

Do you need a professional architecture degree to work for Meow Wolf, Disney Imagineering and others in that arena? I always thought an industry veteran could segue into a senior art/design director role and supervise trained architects - as opposed to training as an architect yourself.

Mar 10, 23 9:31 am  · 
1  · 
reallynotmyname