Archinect
anchor

Non-Profit Board Membership

Bench

Have you ever volunteered or applied to join the board of a non-profit that is associated with the market sector your work tends to focus on?

A local 501.c3 has put out a call for applications to sit on their board for the coming year. It overlaps very well with both my genuine personal interests outside of work, and also with my professional career development. Id love to extend an application to join in some capacity, both for professional and personal reasons. It would be great insight to see how a board operates behind the scenes, and how the fiduciary responsibility for managing a facility's programs can be supported and influenced by those who both use it and care about ensuring its future viability.

I'd love to hear any guidance or recommendations of what to consider when putting oneself forward for this kind of role, when i have no prior experience in a direct capacity (but would likely have more professional background credentials than other applicants they might hope to attract). Past experiences in a similar role are very much appreciated.

Mar 7, 23 5:45 pm
citizen

Great topic and statement!  I look forward to responses, too, and will add mine once I dig out from under some deadlines.

Mar 7, 23 6:38 pm  · 
 · 
gibbost

I am a board member of a local preservation group.  We are a 501c and hold modest fundraising campaigns--mostly home/building tours of unique local properties.  We advocate for keeping historic structures (both commercial and residential).  Most of our activities include: getting buildings on the national register, public awareness, connecting owners with state and local resources for tax credits, and identifying qualified trades people that are available to assist with renovations of historic structures.