Archinect
anchor

Interior Rope Bridge

ObscuraArchitecture

Hello Community,

I am an Architect, looking to install an interior rope suspension bridge in my home. A span of roughly 10’. I have looked for some literature to determine whether there is modern precedent for getting such a thing permitted. My thinking is that if I can demonstrate that the structural materials (either steel cable or robust rope), compare equivalently with the minimum requirement for joists in the code for load capacity, then that would be important.  Further, that the ‘railings’ are designed to not permit an opening beyond 4”. Perhaps tightly netted/woven rope and or cable.

What are the obvious code violations that such a thing can not work around? Im not familiar with a minimum amount of floor ‘movement’, but perhaps that could be an issue.

Can anyone point me towards recent precedents that they are aware of for interior suspension bridges, that would have had to respond to somewhat recent residential building codes?

Any other insights would be most welcomed!

Thanks for the help

Mar 8, 23 11:16 am
JonathanLivingston

Try looking at playground equipment.  Is it a necessary egress path? that will have a large bearing on what you can do I would think.  I have also seen some examples of netting used to create loft-like spaces inside a home. I think any of these done in the US are technically non-habitable "storage" lofts.  If it is in your own home and not a means of egress what's stopping you? Just remove it before sale.  

Mar 8, 23 12:09 pm  · 
1  · 
Non Sequitur

Claims to be an architect yet demands for code-related items without first specifying which jurisdiction? Eummmm... sure bud.

Mar 8, 23 12:18 pm  · 
 · 

Yup, not an architect. At least not in North America.

Mar 8, 23 3:57 pm  · 
 · 
Wood Guy