Archinect
anchor

Architecture and Structural Engineering dual major

Helloworld482

I am a sophomore in highschool and I would like to pursue a structural engineering and architecture dual major in college. I live in Virginia and would like to attend either Virginia Tech or the University of Virginia. With my plan of double majoring which school should I look into? Also is the idea of a dual major a good idea at all?

Mar 3, 23 7:49 pm
Miyadaiku

Keep the goal in mind of either degree. You need them to qualify for a license in the profession. I'd say research what they do and pick one or the other. They are both full time, highly demanding professions with equally demanding degrees. Check the school to see if they even offer a path like that. Any dual major of these is likely going to take additional years to complete(total 6+ perhaps?) so take that into consideration.

Also when you are done with school, architects and engineers are licensed by different agencies with different, mostly non-overlapping requirements and laws regarding their practices. It would be a good educational experience to look them up yourself. For architects check the NCARB website. It should have the whole process laid out for you(spoiler alert: it's long). Engineers also will have a state Board or Engineers or something of the like you can research.

The advantage of having both licenses in theory would be that, if you are designing a project and normally have to pay a structural engineer to design the structure and do the structural drawings, you could do that yourself and stamp it yourself and not have to pay that person. Keep in mind that is not a trivial amount of work to take on for larger projects.

PS- I have an architect license so you are hearing from that perspective. Someone else on here might have both. As far as being an architect, I like it, but as a warning, do not enter it halfheartedly. It really can be pretty intense. 

Mar 4, 23 12:48 am  · 
 · 
Wood Guy