Archinect
anchor

Creating personal projects for admission to M.Arch programs

KingsMake

So I have an undergraduate degree in Finance and Entrepreneurship -which was crazy difficult for me because I am more of the creative type. I worked hard and graduated with Honors/decent GPA -and I want to go on to become an architect. I am an expert in CAD, rendering and animation and I take on a lot of freelance gigs in those areas. So I have a lot of general skills that would have been taught in an architecture or art program- like Rhino, V-Ray, Adobe.. etc. But I want to take on personal projects to start building an aptitude for designing buildings (as opposed to products and branding like what I have done in the past) and to demonstrate my capabilities for graduate schools. Would this be a good idea or should I only show my art? Would admissions like seeing the initiative or would they question why I did a project for no reason? If this is a good idea, where would I begin? I am finding that having no constraints makes things a bit difficult. 

Jan 22, 23 11:30 pm
Non Sequitur

Applications don't care about how and why a "project" was developed.  They only care about the quality of the content and the way the folio describes your creative and design skills.  

If the no constraints is hard for you as "a creative type"... then you won't like arch grad school.  That part is why folio content is so important.  Let the student live or die by their own choices instead of following a checklist.

Also re-read your past forum queries.  

Jan 22, 23 11:39 pm  · 
 · 
KingsMake

Well, in graduate school I am sure they give you project constraints to work off of. They don't just open the doors and say "make whatever structure you want anywhere in the world."

Jan 23, 23 12:37 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Actually, many programs do.

Jan 23, 23 5:44 am  · 
 · 

Really? Our school projects always had an actual site and limiting factors. It's how we learned to design stuff. . . .