Archinect
anchor

Anyone knows about EPFL bachelor admission criteria?

ecnheint

I'm interested in applying to the EPFL bachelor's program in architecture. Does anyone know about the admission criteria?

I hold a bachelor's degree outside of Switzerland and thanks to that it seems I won't have to take exams. I'm not sure about the admission criteria though. All it requires is a French language certificate and a high school and university transcript. It doesn't accept portfolios, motivation letters, reference letters, CV, and it doesn't have an interview as well. Is it the only grade that matters? What's the usual grade requirement?

My bachelor's degree is in electrical engineering. I have a pretty bad GPA(2.5/4.0). My high school grade is better(3.3/4.0) but I guess the uni GPA would weigh more in my case. Does anybody know what are the chances?

Also, what's the normal cohort size for the EPFL architecture bachelor program?

Dec 12, 22 10:23 am
Non Sequitur

https://archinect.com/forum/th...

Dec 12, 22 11:29 am  · 
 · 
enzofontanella

Hey !

I’m doing my 3rd and last year of architecture bachelors at EPFL.

To be honest I live next to this school since forever so it was a convenient choice. 

The price/ education ratio is great (780/semester for Swiss citizen) and ~double it for other nationalities.

Regarding grades requirements for enrolling here, you should check the EPFL website : 

https://www.epfl.ch/education/admission/admission-2/bachelor-admission-criteria-and-application/

As far as I know, the French needs to have a 16/20 in a scientific high school curriculum. So check for other nationalities.

Regarding the cohort, there is 250, ish student in first year. The average age group is 18-20 y.o. And in second year it goes down to 120-150 students.

I you have any question hmu ;)

Dec 24, 22 1:32 am  · 
1  · 
ecnheint

Thanks a lot for your reply!

Dec 24, 22 5:19 am  · 
 · 
ecnheint