Archinect
anchor

Looking for Disabled Architects and Architecture Students

AccesibleArchEd

I am an architecture student that struggles with inattentive ADD as well as a fine motor disability that impacts my ability to sketch and build. While I have 504 plan accommodations, I’ve found that arch profs don’t seem to appreciate the struggle and just expect me to work in the same way and at the same pace as other students. I can’t be the only one with these issues. How do other architects and students deal with this? Is this profession inclusive for people with disabilities? Is the education for architects inclusive? I don’t want to change my career aspirations but not sure how to make it through such a rigorous and heavy program with these limitations and profs that truly don’t get it. Recommendations appreciated on good schools for arch that are better at supporting students with learning differences and disabilities. 

Dec 4, 22 5:10 pm

The unfortunate answer is no.  This profession and it's education is not very accommodating for those with disabilities.  

You're going to need to be able to keep up with the average student and when you graduate the average intern / architect.  

I know this is unfair.  Your best bet is to find a firm willing to work with you.  

Dec 5, 22 12:14 pm  · 
2  · 
msparchitect

I understand Chad's response but disagree a bit. 

In the real world, you will likely never sketch or build a model. Architecture professors are often dinosaurs of the industry, far behind what is actually happening. For physical disabilities, most primary tasks are computer-based. So you need to have a workflow with a computer that works for you.