Archinect
anchor

Interior design

Pianist95

Hi everyone, 

I am a piano teacher with a master's degree in musicology. Do you think I have a chance to get admitted to a master of interior design program? Let me tell you a little bit about my background. I have been painting since high school. My father was a carpenter so I kind of know a couple of techniques in carpentry. And that's it. I am not talking about an Ivy League school. A simple and suitable program that accepts me could really make me happy. Not to mention that the priority is always with more affordable schools and cities in which students are enjoying robust financial aid packages ( do they really exist?)

Dec 5, 22 11:10 am

Not a chance unless you have a decent portfolio and you graduated within the last 4 years.  

Dec 5, 22 12:48 pm  · 
1  ·  2
thisisnotmyname

I think some school out there in the USA will let you in.  You could use your carpentry and painting work to make a portfolio.  You will need to do some legwork to find a reasonably-priced program, however.  It will probably be at a public university somewhere.   A lot of the private and for-profit schools will want to load you up with loan debt.

Dec 5, 22 4:24 pm  · 
 · 

Even the public schools will want to load you up with debt. That is unless you can pay the tuition.

Dec 6, 22 9:52 am  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

Yes, but I think state school tuition will often be a lot lower than private, making the overall cost of attendance lower and reducing the amount of loans. On the other hand, sometimes private institutions have better aid budgets than their public peers and can give larger amounts of aid, but I'm unsure to what extent that's true for private graduate programs in interior design.

Dec 6, 22 1:43 pm  · 
1  · 

It all depends on the school. Out of state tuition can be very high.

Dec 6, 22 1:47 pm  · 
2  · 
thisisnotmyname

Absolutely. OP needs to do their research.

Dec 6, 22 3:10 pm  · 
1  · 
Volunteer