Archinect
anchor

PLEASE HELP! Interior Architecture student changing to Architecture (Australia)

Interior/Architecture

Hello

I would love any and all advice please and thank you. 

I am considering switching to Architecture to finish my degree, for the reasons stated below (Please do not feel the need to read my career crisis) this segment.

I'm a 29 year old student in Australia. I have done 2 years of an Interior Architecture degree. My degree is set up with many crossover subjects between Architecture and Interior Architecture. In my two years I have done almost 2 semesters worth of Architecture subjects. I could complete the rest in nearly the same amount of time as it would take me to complete my Interior Architecture degree.

The question that is rattling in my brain is this:

Could I complete a Bachelor of Architecture and decide then if I want to pursue Interiors or go on to my Masters and Registration?

I know many would say that to pursue Architecture you must be committing 110% as of yesterday. My history is steeped in built design, and I have always wanted to pursue a career in the built environment, so please read the following so you can understand my circumstances.

I know it is not a conventional path proposed, but I am nearly 30 years old, I have had an entire career in the Film Industry. I want to be smart, and give myself as many possibilities as I can from this degree. The idea of having the choice, after spending so much time and money at University is liberating beyond words. Whenever I think of having to choose Interiors right now, my heart skips a beat. 

I have heard many people in Interiors come from a background in Architecture, so:

Is this background I am creating for myself a good idea? If I do end up working in Interiors, will people in the industry look at me as someone who just didn't get their registration? Or will they understand? 

Has anyone had any experience like this, or know of people who have?