Archinect
anchor

Humanistic/Philosophical VS Tech Approach to MArch Application

Miss.Dani

First time posting on the Forum. I graduated with a none Arch STEM major and thinking about applying for March this year. I have about 2 years of tech managerial experience in the architecture world. Worked on an Arch portfolio for the past 2 years and with all honesty, started with barely any knowledge of how to do this to get by with decent design and approaches for different projects. But all of them have a "design with public/good intention" approach (shelters, public buildings, one is even about the meaning of life in a tech advanced world). A lot of my work is about organizing tech and my thesis is very much 1. I'm improving and learning as I go 2. it's better to understand why you are utilizing these tools before digging your heels into designing something based on any tools.

I meet a fellow applicant a couple of days ago, he is also thinking about MArch this year as well and he showed me his portfolio. This dude straight up pulled coding, facial recognition, heat recognition, machine learning, and even went as far as building a mock robotics demo for his project. Not going to lie the only techy things I have dabbled with in mine was grasshopper (I have to start learning Rhino from scratch last year so this is definitely not my thing) and I am feeling very destoried after that conversation. 

When it comes down to designing for MArch program.. should I focus more on tech and coding than my original approach? I still have some time to investigate it before application season. Some suggestions on which approach is better in MArch app are greatly appreciated. 

Jul 15, 22 11:11 am
Kinsbergen's comment has been hidden
Kinsbergen

I could answer your question but I am too bored to do so. 

Jul 15, 22 11:21 am  · 
monosierra

Be the best version of yourself.