Archinect
anchor

Struggling in architecture school. How to deal with lecturers like these ones?

gg6892

I’m studying interior architecture at what is considered a 'prestigious' design school in my country and I am 31 years old, so a bit older than my cohort. Throughout my whole course I’ve maintained a distinction average, except for this one particular class where my lecturer only just passed me for every single submission. For this whole semester, I’ve shown up to every class, put in more than 9 hours of study outside class per week and I feel I really engaged in the content by listening, actively participating in discussions and doing the weekly readings. In all honestry it's not the high grade I'm chasing, I just want to feel like I'm making progress in the course, and obviously if I have grades that indicate that I am lacking certain skills, I want to correct this as I'm sacrificing a lot as an older student pursuing this career.

I’ll admit that the lecturer’s subject was super pretentious and the assignment briefs were always very vague. However, I spent a lot of time clarifying key points with him. I do have an equitable learning plan for my adhd which allows for me to gain further assistance when requested from lecturers, but this didn’t stop me from feeling stupid and annoying. I made time to get feedback from him after each assessment and he always seemed pretty irritable and it was hard to get anything very specific from him other than him saying he would have liked my designs to be “more immersive”. I know if I follow up with him again to gain feedback he will give me a pretty cold and impersonal response reluctantly agreeing to meet up and when we do he will stare at me condescendingly while remaining tight lipped on what I need to do to improve further.