Archinect
anchor

Undergrad arch degree: Should I go to CCA or UC Berkeley

hasappington

Hello, I am trying to get some different perspectives on this conundrum.

I'm a transfer student who got into UC Berkeley and CCA for architecture. 

I have a scholarship so UCB and CCA would be approx. the same price.

UCB is a BA

CCA is a B.Arch

What do people think? Which program is better?

Context: I already have 1.5 years work experience designing/drawing/permitting residential homes... should I go straight for a b.arch, or take the b.a and then shoot for a M.Arch at yet another school?

Please let me know what you think! My CCA decision deadline is only 4 days away. 

Apr 27, 22 2:24 pm
Non Sequitur

Don't waste time and your parent's money on unaccredited degrees.

Apr 27, 22 3:04 pm  · 
 · 
hasappington

Beyond optimizing ROI , which school would you rather attend for architecture?

Apr 28, 22 2:06 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Always choose the least expensive accredited option.

Apr 28, 22 12:39 pm  · 
Non Sequitur

Hurry internet, help me make expensive adult decisions for me! I only have 2 days left...

Apr 28, 22 4:40 pm  · 
1  · 
hasappington

Hahaha, my thoughts exactly

Apr 28, 22 5:30 pm  · 
 · 

OP - Just in case you don't know.  There is a process to become an architect.  

1.  Schooling / Experience 

Most states (over 50%) require a degree from an accredited architecture program (aka an accredited degree).  Some states allow non accredited degrees and / or work experience.  A B.Arch or M.Arch provide accredited degrees.  A M. Arch allows you to teach.  Other than that they are the same in terms of licensing. 

2.  Establish your NCARB record

This can be done while in school.  NCARB is who keeps track of your internship and licensing process / licenses.  

3.  Internship.