Archinect
anchor

UMich vs. Penn for 3-year M.Arch?

jcole00

Hi all, 

I've narrowed down my decision for where I'll begin my M.Arch degree this summer to UMich Taubman College and Penn Weitzman School of Design. I have an art history degree from a small liberal arts college, and have no architecture background. 

I had the chance to visit both schools, and honestly liked what I saw more at Michigan than I did at Penn. The studios are bigger and more well-equipped, and people generally seemed friendlier. I like that the program is on the bigger side, which comes with a breadth of faculty to choose from. This feels important for me since I'm not totally certain where my design sensibility or style lies. I also appreciate that the 3g students are their own cohort for the first year, before being mixed in with the other students. 

On the other hand, Penn's faculty, resources, name, and connections to the northeast are hard to deny. I live in Brooklyn now and plan to move back to NYC after completing my degree, and worry that would be more of a challenge at UMich. The main thing that gives me pause about Penn is its emphasis on digital computation methods and parametrics...this isn't really my interest and I worry that I would struggle to keep up given I have no background in architecture.

Finally, the location in Philadelphia and Ivy League prestige are difficult for me turn down. Does anyone have any sense for how much better the career prospects are for Penn over Michigan grads? Will I regret forgoing the opportunity to attend Penn? 

Also, Michigan gave me a generous scholarship and I wouldn't have to take out any loans, whereas I would with Penn- although this isn't a deciding factor for me. 

If anyone has any advice, it would be much appreciated!

Apr 12, 22 1:40 pm
Non Sequitur

"Also, Michigan gave me a generous scholarship and I wouldn't have to take out any loans, whereas I would with Penn- although this isn't a deciding factor for me. "