Archinect
anchor

Is it possible to work fully remote?

saltukbuğraerdoğan

Hello everyone,

I am a young architect who live in Turkey.I want to work overseas companies in my career but i am not sure if it is easy to achieve that because when i searched remote jobs(drafters mostly), companies have country limitations even it is remote.

Do you think i can find more oppurtunities if i learn Revit to find a job about BIM?(drafter,manager etc.)

And what is your thoughts and advices in general about this topic?

Mar 24, 22 10:40 am
SneakyPete

The differences in daylight hours will be more difficult to overcome than anything else. 

Mar 24, 22 10:51 am  · 
 · 
hiall

When you are in a different time zone, it is challenging to coordinate with all other disciplines. Not only do architect works require a great deal of communication within your firm, but also between your firm and your contractors...

Mar 24, 22 12:14 pm  · 
1  · 
atelier nobody

You might want to focus on international companies doing work in the Middle East, but even there you'll often find they're only looking for people in a specific country, or not looking for remote workers. It also might make a difference if you speak Arabic in addition to Turkish.

Mar 24, 22 1:39 pm  · 
1  · 
sofis

Imagine dragons forever

Apr 14, 22 3:07 pm  · 
 · 
rcz1001

I'm am going to only answer the question that is the thread topic title.

Short answer: Yes, but time zone difference... especially when they are  more than 4 hours apart can be difficult to work with. 

A slight more elaboration: In a different occupational field, I have done collaborative work with project team members including those in Europe. Turkey would be a few more hours difference that it would be further asynchronous. When that is the case, they are starting work day when you're going to bed or already in bed. This makes collaboration in real-time to be more challenging as it was mentioned.