Archinect
anchor

GSD vs UBC vs McGill Architecture

MILLS

I am currently a Dalhousie Architecture student and will be graduating from the Bachelor of Environmental Design program in may. For graduate school, I applied to UBC, McGill, and the Harvard GSD and have been admitted to the GSD and am waiting to hear back from the other two.

I am currently trying to justify the enormous difference in cost between the Canadian degrees versus Harvard’s and am hoping to get insights into exactly what I will get out of a Harvard degree that I won’t get from the other two options. I have received zero financial aid, but am fortunate that my parents will be able to help with about half of the total cost.

Although I still have an incredibly broad idea of where I want to take my career, I know that I am interested in both practicing and in teaching, and that I want the work I do to be guided by sustainability concerns (environmental and social). I’m also keen to work in the UK as I’m a dual citizen, so degree recognition could be helpful in this endeavour. 

Any input on the comparison of the three regarding faculty, common areas of study and post-degree work, strengths and weaknesses of the programs, and student life would be much appreciated. 

Mar 14, 22 11:02 am
Almosthip

Its not worth the extra cost.  Take the cheapest route.  Less debt is best

Mar 14, 22 12:20 pm  · 
3  · 
Non Sequitur

Take the cheapest option.  Canadian tuition is virtually free relative to the USA and there is very little difference, other than the heath-stopping debt.  Don't listen to the sirens' songs and stay away from big name $chools.  

Mar 14, 22 12:25 pm  · 
3  · 
square.

ditch the gsd for now - get your standard march and if you want pursue one of the fancy 1 yr 2nd masters at a later time; you might get aid then

Mar 14, 22 12:49 pm  · 
1  · 
whistler