Archinect
anchor

so... UCB or Princeton? (for a UK person for masters)

vicyvic

so....

i studied in UCL for undergrad, then i did a tonne of research and applied to a few places for masters in US because i've been given the impression from my research of stats and friends that US wages for architects is much higher.

now... i was certain that i was not gonna get it, so i did my best, and succeeded in forgetting about it and moving on in my life.  but i got offers, so now i'm thinking about big life choices.

Firstly, i'm a really outlandish creative person in my personal projects

but secondly, i also come from a poor background, so money speaks bigger than dreams.

for a person who could get masters for 18K in total, is masters in the US worth it? will i actually get a higher salary in the US? (because statistics somehow hasn't convinced me yet)

and then, which university has more clout for me to get into a high paying architect job in US?

it's a big question that crept up on me because i was 100% sure i wasn't gonna get any offers... so i'm unprepared mentally even though i've done research.

Please shower me with your personal experience and opinions please, i'm kinda lost and emotionally unprepared to take this decision yet.

THANKS 

Mar 9, 22 1:31 pm
justavisual

The cost of living in the US is much higher than the UK. The cost of that education would put a huge burden of debt on you (150k?) unless you get financial aid.

Do you have a visa? Are you sure you can work in the USA when you're done?

What kind of offices are you aiming for? Do they also have a higher salary or would you need to sell your soul to a huge corporate firm to pay off that debt?