Archinect
anchor

Opinions on Rice MArch1 3.5y program?

whydw

Hi everyone,

I am an international student with a design background. Got offer from RICE MARCH Option1 (3.5years) with full tuition waiver and I am leaning towards it. I find it is a very small program. Have a few questions about the school and Huston.

1. Does anyone know how the current program is and any changes after Sara Whiting left ? To rice graduates and current students, how is the faculty in Rice? 

2. I read from some posts saying that Rice is heavily theory-focused, which I am interested in. But through their works, I feel the school focuses more on practical projects. Personally, I would like to pursue a career in research and academia other than working for big firms. I wonder if the 3.5-year program will help that. 

3. Are many works/studios/research based on Huston and Texas? I think I might leave Huston and work in other cities after graduation. Since I assume that I will spend much time studying Huston, it will be a pity...

4. How is Huston for international students, in terms of living there, the entertainment, safety and intergrating into local community, etc? How different is it comparing to east and west coasts of the U.S.?

I would really appreciate any of your opinions and suggestions. Thank you all.

Mar 8, 22 1:06 pm
atelier nobody

Rice is a generally reputable school, although I'm not familiar enough personally to say any more than that, and a full-tuition waiver is nothing to scoff at, but you should also think about the living expenses if there's no stipend attached.

I can say a little about Houston - the amount you'd have to pay me to live there for 3½ years is a LOT more than a full ride at Rice. It's hot and humid most of the year, punctuated by occasional hurricanes, and, even worse than the weather, it's full of TEXANS!!!

Mar 8, 22 7:17 pm  · 
 · 
placemaker