Archinect
anchor

Architecture + Management??

FutureArch

If I wanted to transition into a more managerial role within an architecture firm, what would be the next best step in terms of education? Not necessarily another degree, maybe just a short course series or something similar? I am interested in management in terms of like a COO. 

My background is in Civil/Structural Engineering and my graduate degree is in Architecture, but I am considering moving into Real Estate Development or Construction Management or plain Business Administration (though I don't know which one would be a better option).

Dec 23, 21 7:48 pm
Non Sequitur

Op is in the 1st year of their M.arch and is already looking at management?  Oh boy.... gotta learn how to crawl before jumping into a 100m gold medal dash.

Dec 24, 21 2:47 pm  · 
1  · 
quizzical

I have both an B. Arch and an MBA … I took my license 3 years after my B. Arch. I took my MBA three years later.

Professionally, I practiced architecture, worked in real estate development, operated my own management consulting firm working primarily with design firms, and finished my career as the managing principal of a mid-sized design firm.

The MBA provides excellent preparation for a career like this and opens doors (and provides a level of confidence) that lesser credentials would not.

Dec 24, 21 3:02 pm  · 
5  · 
bowling_ball

Architects are terrible business people who typically refuse to acknowledge it. It boggles my mind. Our industry isn't special, but good luck convincing a principal of 99.99999% of small and medium firms (and there's a reason they don't ever make the jump to large firm status - it's not for lack of design abilities)

Dec 24, 21 11:02 pm  · 
 · 
greenlander1

Might help to sharpen what you want to be first long term.  Think that would inform your next step.