Archinect
anchor

Thinking of moving back to Singapore, how bad is the work life balance?

Samantha_A

I'm a Singaporean who came to the US for college and stayed to gain experience. I've been missing Singapore, especially with the pandemic, and have been thinking about returning. Logistically, I'm a little worried. I've heard the work-life balance can be really bad. People working in Singapore now, is it possible to find a firm who respects the 40h a week or is it as bad as the internet says? 

Additionally, how do I measure up to a local candidate and what would be a salary range? I have 2 years of experience, am a registered architect in the US and will likely get LEED accredited by the time I return. I'm also very comfortable in Revit. I've seen the salary poll here but there's not a lot of info on the state of the industry since the pandemic. 

Thanks!

Nov 15, 21 11:07 am
sameolddoctor

Try to find a US or UK office with a branch in Singapore, those can be a bit better than Singaporean architects offices

Nov 15, 21 2:33 pm  · 
1  · 
monosierra

Seconded. With your American experience, working at Safdie, SOM, or KPF's Singapore office (If they are still around) makes a lot more sense than working at the local giants. I'd say only WOHA or maaaaaybe SCDA are really world class as far as design is concerned - the local bigwigs like DP, 61, RSP & friends at best serve as AOR to foreign firms without a local presence when it comes to prestigious work.

No point competing with NUS and SUTD grads who have a leg up on you when it comes to alumni connections, building code familiarity, and other advantages from studying and working in the heartland. Your advantage is international/American experience - sell yourself that way.

Nov 15, 21 5:35 pm  · 
2  · 
Samantha_A

Thanks, that's a good tip.